## Ministerial Resignations and Appointments

The following Ministers have submitted their resignations from the Government:

The Right Honourable Patrick Jenkin MP, Secretary of State for the Environment;

The Right Honourable Peter Rees QC MP, Chief Secretary, HM Treasury;

The Right Honourable The Earl of Gowrie, Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster (Minister for the Arts).

John Stradling Thomas Esquire MP, Minister of State, Welsh-

The Right Honourable Adam Butler MP, Minister of State for Defence Procurement.

Neil Macfarlane Esquire MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Department of the Environment. Alexander Fletcher Esquire MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Department of Trade and Industry.

The Queen has been pleased to approve the following appointments:

Secretary of State for Trade and Industry

Secretary of State for the Home Department

Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster

Secretary of State for Northern Ireland

Secretary of State for Employment

Secretary of State for the Environment

Paymaster General

The Right Honourable Leon Brittan QC MP

The Right Honourable Douglas Hurd CBE QC MP

The Right Honourable Norman Tebbit MP

The Right Honourable Tom King MP

The Right Honourable The Lord Young of Graffham

The Right Honourable Kenneth Baker MP

The Right Honourable Kenneth Clarke QC MP Chief Secretary to the Treasury John MacGregor Esquire OBE MP

The above Ministers will be members of the Cabinet which is now complete.

The Queen has also approved the following appointments:

Privy Council Office

Minister of State (Minister for the Arts) Richard Luce Esquire MP

HM Treasury

Minister of State

Ian Gow Esquire TD MP

[Department of Education and Science Christopher Patten Esquire MP] Minister of Stat

Ministry of Defence

Minister of State

Norman Lamont Esquire MP

(Minister for Defence Procurement)

Minister of State for Defence The Lord Trefgarne

Department of the Environment

Minister of State Environment, benth side and beaut (Minister, for Local Covernment) Government) Minister of State

John Patten Esquire MP Minister of State (Minister for Housing and Construction)

of State

Parliamentary Under-Secretary [Richard Tracey Esquire JP MP] Mrs Angela Rumbold CBE MP

Department of Health and Social Security

Minister of State (Minister for Health)

The Right Honourable Barney Hayhoe MP

Parliamentary Under-Secretary [John Wheeler Esquire JP MP] of State

John Major Esquire MP

Department of Trade and Industry

Minister of State

The Honourable Peter Morrison MP

Parliamentary Under-Secretary Michael Howard Esquire QC MP of State

Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food

Minister of State

John Gummer Esquire MP

Department of Employment

Parliamentary Under-Secretary David Trippier Esquire RD JP MP of State

Northern Ireland Office

[Par]famentary Under-Secretary Richard Needham Esquire MP]\_\_\_\_\_\_ of State

Raymond Whitney Esquire OBE MP

## Department of Transport

Parliamentary Under-Secretary

The Earl of Caithness

of State

Welsh Øffice Parliamentary Under+Secretary State

Mark Robinson Esquire MP

Notes for Editors Notes for Editors and with Some further appointments below Cabinet level remain to be made and with the Queen has been pleased to approve that Mr MacGregor and Mr Gummer be sworn of Her Majesty's most honourable Privy Council.

Her Majesty has also been pleased to approve that the honour of knightbood be conferred upon Mx John Stradling Thomas.

Mr Tebbit and Lord Young will not draw any Ministerial salary.

Copies of letters exchanged between the Prime Minister and Ministers leaving the Cabinet are attached.

[Mr Tracey], Mrs Rumbold, Mr Major, [Mr Needham] Mr Howard

Mr. Luce, will be Minister for the Arti, and will have day to day reponsibility for the Eincit Service functions of the Managene 2 september 1985 and Personnel Office in relation to the Givit Service.