Chief Whip's thought at 31. July

COPY NO 105

When when the state where the state of the s

LIST OF MINISTERS (3 APRIL 1985)

See The See

-

MEMBERS OF THE CABINET (12 SEPTEMBER 1984)

Prime Minister

Lord President of the Council

Lord Chancellor

Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs

Secretary of State for the Home Department

Chancellor of the Exchequer

Secretary of State for Education and Science

Secretary of State for Energy

Secretary of State for Defence

Secretary of State for Scotland

Secretary of State for Wales

Secretary of State for the Environment Portocito Lord Privy Seal

Secretary of State for Social Services

not and -

Secretary of State for Trade and Industry formation General Secretary of State for Employment Parameter General in Colour. Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food

Chief Secretary, Treasury

The Rt Hon Margaret Thatcher MP The Rt Hon Viscount Whitelaw The Rt Hon Lord Hailsham of St Marylebone The Rt Hon Sir Geoffrey Howe QC MP

The Rt Hon Leon Brittan QC MP

The Rt Hon Nigel Lawson MP The Rt Hon Sir Keith Joseph MP

The Rt Hon Peter Walker MP The Rt Hon Michael Heseltine MP The Rt Hon George Younger MP

The Rt Hon Nicholas Edwards MP KENNE BERGACENE The Rt Hon Patrick Jenkin MP

The Rt Hon John Biffen MP

LEON Roter BRITAN The Rt Hon Norman Tebblt MP The Rt Hon Tom King MP LORD YOUNG

The Rt Hon Michael Jopling MP Jon KING

The Rt Hon Peter Ross QG MP JOHN MOORE

* Not paid from public funds

3. John Guman

Secretary of State for Transport

Secretary of State for Northern Ireland

Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster

Minister without Portfolio

MILLAR JOPLING The Rt Hon Douglas Hurd MP The Rt Hon Lord Young NORMAN JUNSIT Keilt Joseph

The Rt Hon Nicholas Ridley MP

LAW OFFICERS

Attorney General

Lord Advocate

Solicitor General

Solicitor General for Scotland

The Rt Hon Sir Michael Havers QC MP

The Rt Hon Lord Young of Graffham

The Rt Hon Lord Cameron of Lochbroom QC

Sir Patrick Mayhew QC MP

Mr Peter Fraser QC MP

Mr John Gummer MP

MINISTERS NOT IN THE CABINET

Parliamentary Secretary, Treasury

Paymaster General

Minister of State, Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Minister of State, Foreign and Commonwealth Office and Minister for Overseas Development

/Minister of State, Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Minister of State, Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Minister of State, Home Office

Minister of State, Home Office

Financial Secretary, Treasury to Chur Mr John Moore MP

Minister of State, Treasury

Economic Secretary, Treasury (Minister of State)

The Rt Hon Baroness Young 🗸

The Rt Hon John Wakeham MP

The Rt Hon Timothy Raison MP 🗸

Mr Malcolm Rifkind MP

Mr Richard Luce MP

Mr David Waddington QC MP 🗸

Richard Luce Gesthey Pullie Peler Brook

Mr Giles Shaw MP *

Tookt Hon Charlepher Patter MB - Mar Barney Hayhoe MP Mr Ian Stewart MP

John Come Ed- [Hannie] 2 France

Minister of State, Department of Energy

Minister of State for the Armed Forces, The Rt Hon John Stanley MP Ministry of Defence

Minister of State for Defence Procurement, Ministry of Defence

Minister of State, Scottish Office

Minister of State, Welsh Office

Minister of State, Department of the Environment (Minister for Local Government)

Minister of State, Department of the Environment (Minister for Housing and Construction)

Minister of State, Department of the Environment

Minister of State, Department of Health and Social Security (Minister for Health)

Minister of State, Department of Health and Social Security (Minister for Social Security)

Minister of State, Department of Trade and Industry (Minister for Trade)

Minister of State, Department of Trade and Industry

Minister of State, Department of Trade and Industry (Minister for Information Technology)

Minister of State, Department of Employment

Minister of State, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food

Minister of State, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food

The Rt Hon Alick Buchanan-Smith M

The Rt Hon Adam Butler MP

The Rt Hon Lord Gray of Contin

Mr John Stradling Thomas MP wikian waldegrave MP The Rt Hon Kenneth Baker Mr

Mr Ian Gow MP _____ C.O.

Lord Elton

The Rt Hon Kenneth Clarke QC MP

Mr Antony Newton MP

Peter Momiton The Rt Hon Paul Channon MP

- Mr Norman Lamont MP -Chins Patter

Mr Geoffrey Pattie MP

The Hon Peter Morrison MP

The Rt Hon Lord Belstead

Comison Mr John MacGregor MP

Minister of State, Department of Transport

Minister of State, Northern Ireland Office Minister of Slete, DES

Mrs Lynda Chalker MP Norman hamont

Dr Rhodes Boyson MP

Mr. John Gummer JUNIOR MINISTERS

AGRICULTURE, FISHERIES AND FOOD MINISTRY OF

Parliamentary Secretary

DEFENCE, MINISTRY OF

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for the Armed Forces

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Defence Procurement

EDUCATION AND SCIENCE, DEPARTMENT OF

Parliamentary Under-Secretaries of State

EMPLOYMENT, DEPARTMENT OF

Parliamentary Under-Secretaries of State

ENERGY, DEPARTMENT OF

Parliamentary Under-Secretaries of State

ENVIRONMENT, DEPARTMENT OF THE

Parliamentary Under-Secretaries of State

FOREIGN AND COMMONWEALTH OFFICE

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State Mr Timothy Renton MP

HEALTH AND SOCIAL SECURITY, DEPARTMENT OF

Parliamentary Under-Secretaries of State

Mrs Peggy Fenner MP

Lord Trefgarne

Mr John Lee MP

The Hon Peter Brooke MP (Mr Robert Dunn MP Geogewalden MP

> The Hon Alan Clark MP Mr Peter Bottomley MP

Mr Alastair Goodlad MP Mr David Hunt MP

E Mr Neil Macfarlane MP Sir George Young MP The Hon William Waldegrave MP Angela Rumbold MP

Mr John Patten MP Mr Raymond Whitney MP Mr. John Major Baroness Trumpington

HOME OFFICE

Parliamentary Under-Secretaries of State

NORTHERN IRELAND OFFICE

Parliamentary Under-Secretaries of State

SCOTTISH OFFICE

Parliamentary Under-Secretaries of State

TRADE AND INDUSTRY, DEPARTMENT OF

Parliamentary Under-Secretaries of State

TRANSPORT, DEPARTMENT OF

Parliamentary Under-Secretaries of State

WELSH OFFICE

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State

TREASURY

Treasurer of the Household (Deputy Chief Whip)

Comptroller of the Household

Vice Chamberlain of the Household

Lords Commissioners of the Treasury

Assistant Government Whips

Mr David Mellor MP Lord Glenarthur

Mr Nicholas Scott MP pichord Needhan MP Mr Christopher Patter MP Needhan MP Lord Lyell

> Mr Allan Stewart MP Mr John MacKay MP Mr Michael Ancram MP lar Lairy MP

Mr John Butcher MP Michael Howard MP Mr Alexander Fletcher MP Howard MP Mr David Trippier MP Lord Lucas of Chilworth

Mr David Mitchell MP Mr Michael Spicer MP

Mr. Wyn Roberts MP Mr. mark Robinson MP

Mr John Cope MP

Mr Carol Mather MP

The Hon Robert Boscawen MP

Mr Donald Thompson MP Mr Ian Lang MP Mr Tristan Garel-Jones MP The Hon Archibald Hamilton MP Mr John Major MP

Mr Michael Neubert MP The Hon Timothy Sainsbury MP Mr Tony Durant MP Mr Peter Lloyd MP The Hon Mark Lennox-Boyd MP



GOVERNMENT WHIPS, HOUSE OF LORDS

Captain of the Gentlemen-at-Arms

Captain of the Yeomen of the Guard (Deputy Chief Whip, House of Lords)

Lords in Waiting

Viscount Long Lord Skelmersdale Earl of Caithness Lord Brabazon of Tara

The Rt Hon Lord Denham

Earl of Swinton

1

•

Baroness in Waiting

Baroness Cox

6